Rootstohealth's Blog


Beginning of Many Updates
August 23, 2009, 5:11 pm
Filed under: Dairy, Doing Well at Home

After a long hiatus, there is so much to say!

Update number 1: Yogurt Making.

Not as easy as I made it out to be. Attempts 1 and 2, one of which was regular, whole milk, the other from Milk Thistle Farms, both made with Stonyfield starters, were delicious, creamy, and WORKED!

Then comes attempts 3 and 4. Utter failures. I tried two different milks, but used my homemade yogurt as starters. Both never really gelled into the yogurt consistancy. So, attempt number 5. Realizing that the problem was probably with my starter, I switched back to Stonyfield yogurt. I used organic milk, regular pasteurization. I ended up with a thick tacky mess that looked more like glue than yogurt. This I attribute to leaving the yogurt out too long before refrigerating. It’s my only guess as to why it was such a gross disaster. For my next attempt: fresh starter, and a strict time limit on how long I keep the yogurt in the oven. I hope it works.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This may be cheating but I always use the store bought yogurt starter, and I didn’t have a problem.

Comment by Lauren

I probably should try that. I don’t think it’s cheating – it was just cheaper to buy yogurt and use some of it as starter.

Comment by rootstohealth




Leave a Reply

